• You will need an image of the Wheel of Life. Here it is worth drawing the wheel and its divisions or even looking for a ready-made model and printing;
  • With the wheel in hand, write the name of each category in the divisions. The most common model has from 8 areas of life to 12, which belong to four macro themes: Personal, Professional, Relationship, and  Quality of Life ;
  • When the sectors are already divided, it will be necessary to perform a new division, this time within each area. To do this, scale from zero, starting at the center of the circle, to ten, ending at the edge;
  • Now, it’s time to fill in the scores, which go from 1 to 10 (the subdivisions from 1 to 10 help to color the Wheel of Life as if they were percentage divisions, if 4 subdivisions are colored, for example, it means that the satisfaction level with that area it is 40%);
  • With everything completed, the reflection stage arrived. In the first instance, observe the wheel and think if the result obtained brings you (or the customer) happiness, or if you would like reality to be different;
  • If necessary, it is also interesting to mark what would be the ideal points of each area, creating a second circle;
  • Analyze which areas need more attention, that is, those with lower scores;
  • With the areas of attention defined, list a priority, the main area, which is called leverage. She will be the focus of the next sessions. 

The 12 areas of the Wheel of Life

You have already seen throughout the text that the Wheel of Life is popularly found with 8, 10 or 12 divisions. The most traditional is the wheel with 12 evaluation sectors. Here, it is worth noting that each sector can be changed according to the purpose of applying the technique, but in any case it is important that you know the main ones. The 12 sectors can be grouped according to 4 major areas. See below.


1. Health and disposition

This is the first area concerning personal life and concerns the person’s current health situation. As health, understand here the physical, mental, and emotional health. So it is necessary to balance them to select the sector score. 

2. Intellectual development 

The area of ​​intellectual development represents learning. The more the intellectual part is neglected, the less you will be learning and the more complicated your path to your goals will be, as new skills help you to stand out and reach the top faster. 

3. Emotional balance

Here it is necessary to analyze how the balance of emotions is throughout the day. Do you maintain a level of feeling or do your emotions fluctuate greatly in a single day? To assess this area of ​​life, also think about how you deal with your emotions, whether positive or negative. 


4. Achievement and purpose

We arrived in the professional macro sector. Here each of the areas will refer to your life at work. To rank, the area of ​​accomplishment and purpose, reflect on how accomplished you feel when you think about your profession. Are you happy with what you do? Does your work match your values? 

5. Financial resources

Here you will need to classify how your finances are doing. Analyze if the money you earn is able to maintain your standard of living and also if there is financial space to invest in constant improvement. 

6. Social contribution 

In the last professional area, think about your perception of the social: how does what you do professionally contribute positively to society? By positively impacting other people, it is quite possible that your personal satisfaction with work will be high. 


7. Family

Now you will start looking at the areas that represent your relationships. The first one concerns his relationship with his family. As it is the social nucleus that most people spend the most time with, it is important to think about whether family relationships are going well and what impact, positive and negative, they have on our daily routine. 

8. Love development

Another very important relationship area for the personal satisfaction of human beings is the love part. In this part of the Wheel of Life, classify how your love relationship is going and also think about yourself and how your self-esteem is. 

9. Social life

Finally, the third area of ​​relationships is your social life. The feeling of belonging to a group is very important for the balance of our life, so for this sector, think about your satisfaction with your group of friends and whether your time is spent quality. 

Quality of life

10. Creativity, hobbies, and fun

The last of the four macro-sectors concerns our quality of life. The first area is creativity, hobbies, and fun, so to analyze this, think about your downtime that is spent on things you really love to do. We all need time to relax and exercise our creativity. How is this time for you? 

11. Fullness and happiness

Do you know what fullness is? A quick look at the dictionary tells us that fullness is the state of being whole, complete. In other words, the feeling of fullness comes when we feel good about our life, able to make the most of it. In this area, make your classification thinking if your life is being lived with quality. Also, think if you have a purpose in life, how are your self-knowledge and your feeling of happiness? 

12. Spirituality

We come to the twelfth and final area of ​​the Wheel of Life, the area of ​​spirituality. Make no mistake, as this area does not necessarily have to have a connection with religion. To classify the area, you need to reflect on how spirituality impacts your life.